April 3, 2008

Christian victims of violent crime

Posted in more disciples, NYC at 3:09 PM by alexlozada

I confess, as a victim of 2 different NYC crimes while riding the IRT Lex line, I don’t know that I would have responded as Julio Diaz did. I realize Jesus may be speaking to different cultural context (lawsuit rather than robbery) but I wonder if Julio Diaz was influenced by Luke 6:27-36.

I don’t think I would have responded the way Pauline Jacobi did either.

I do think my reaction if I’m attacked when I’m alone would be different from my reaction if I’m attacked in the company of someone for whom I’m responsible. Though Paul is not talking about defending one’s family from violent crime in 1 Timothy 5:7-8, I think the idea of protection is related.

Leave a Reply

