April 5, 2008

Daily Bible Verse

Posted in better disciples at 10:50 AM by alexlozada

The Daily Bible Verse is one of several sites that uses email to connect people w/ the Word. I subscribed to one before, but wasn’t disciplines about reading. I noticed this email list on a friend’s MySpace site, and because I didn’t have much content on my own newly created MySpace, I added it hoping that the knowledge (fear of embarassment) that MySpace friends might ask about the verse would keep me reading.

Today’s verse focuses on another discipline (better disciple quality) that I lack “do not let any unwholesome talk come out of your mouths, but only what is helpful for building others up according to their needs, that it may benefit those who listen.” Reading the surrounding context shows that Paul is not just talking about profanity, but particularly bitter, malicious speech. During this current political season, I had to apologize to some friends because they asked me about a politician, and though I held my tongue early in the conversation, I finally said something witty and cutting, BUT bitter & malicious.

Postscript – after I made my apology, I also deleted a bunch of political blogs from my bookmarks, because what I read influences what I say. This is going to be a tough year to live up to Ephesians 4:29.

Leave a Reply

