July 23, 2008

The Pursuit of Happyness… and help for the homeless

Posted in better disciples, culture at 11:50 PM by alexlozada

The other night, Heather & I watched The Pursuit of Happyness, Will Smith’s movie-based-on-the-true-story of Chris Gardner. I’m glad she “made” me watch it – I joke w/ her that I only want to watch happy movies because I already deal w/ not-so-happy stories in my ministry. As my insides churned at the struggles of the homeless dad & young son, I thought about the one place they were able to rest for even a single night at a time, Glide Memorial Church.

After the movie, I talked a little w/ Ely & Abby about their memories of daddy taking visiting youth groups to serve at Bowery Mission and New York City Rescue Mission when we lived in New York, and daddy spending the night away from home to volunteer at Welcome One Emergency Shelter here in Harford County.

For more than a century in more cities and countries than any other organization, the Salvation Army has been sheltering folks with no place to go.  Wednesday evening, July 30, my teammate Rob Arsenault has bought a block of tickets supporting the local Salvation Army’s “Christmas in July” fundraiser at the Aberdeen Ironbirds game. If you want to enjoy an evening of minor league baseball knowing your money is being donated to a great cause OR you want to be a kettle volunteer on a warm summer evening instead of a wind-chilled, wintry December day , contact Rob.

1 Comment »

  1. […] one, Ron assumes he’ll help Denver but it turns out the other way around.”  Some MCC members and small groups have been serving “people kicked to the curb of life” for a while. […]


Leave a Reply

