February 22, 2010

NACC video + Lenten Luke 5

Posted in better disciples, NACC at 11:48 PM by alexlozada

As MCC’s senior pastor Ben Cachiaras introduced this promo video for this year’s North American Chr Conv, he said “I’ve been going to the NACC my whole life.” I can’t quite claim that, but I do enjoy the opportunity to see this year’s NACC with through the eyes of those who have not been to one before, listening to their questions, and trying to convey how the NACC is always one of the highlight of my year.

Vodpod videos no longer available.

Reading Luke for Lent is proving to be a challenge for a similar reason – I’m so familiar with the text that I need to remind myself to see it with fresh eyes. With Luke 5, just in the time I’ve been @ MCC, I’ve heard Ben Cachiaras preach on “Wreck the Roof”, former teammate Kristal Dove promote Matthew (a/k/a Levi) parties, and I’ve written about Jesus’ call to Simon & his fishing partners. During this morning’s reading, because I knew the other stories in the chapter so well, I thought more about two parts of the chapter that seemed to fit w/ Lent: “Jesus often withdrew to lonely places and prayed” and Jesus’ reply to the question about His disciples lack of fasting.

2 Comments »

  1. Jon Lanier said,

    The NACC : Jude 1:11 Woe to them! They have taken the way of Cain; they have rushed for profit into Balaam’s error; they have been destroyed in Korah’s rebellion.

  2. alexlozada said,

    I disagree, Jon. I don’t speak for the NACC, but my personal opinion is guest speakers (in the way recent NACC programs have included them) fit with the Restoration Movement value of “Christians only, but not the only Christians.” The Jude context refers specifically to godless who deny the lordship of Jesus (v4) (v8) and practice immorality. My opinion is that the NACC guest speakers do NOT fit that category.


Leave a Reply

