February 23, 2010

Plodding past planks

Posted in better disciples at 11:07 PM by alexlozada

MCC teammate Rob Kastens passed along this quote from Eileen Button, “Lent is a plodding, definitive crescendo that leads up to the cacophonous noise of Good Friday and the gorgeous aria of Easter.” I don’t describe my Luke 6 reading today as plodding, but I’m glad that I have more than 40 calendar days for the 40 chapters of Luke and Mark, because I think I’ll re-read Luke 6 because there was so much to absorb. Influenced by a reaction to my post yesterday, I reflected on Luke 6:37-42. “Why do you look at the speck of sawdust in your brother’s eye and pay no attention to the plank in your own eye?” Thinking about the planks protruding from my eye helped me pause before replying – important for on-line or in-person communication 🙂

Leave a Reply

